Compare Lenders Before You Choose a Cash Store
Side-by-side figures for 24 U.S. lenders that make personal loans between $500 and $5,000, from online lenders to branch installment companies, so you can judge a cash store visit against an online request with real numbers.
On this page
How We Compared Lenders and What Each Column Means
We picked 24 real U.S. lenders that make personal loans in the $500 to $5,000 range and accept fair or limited credit, then recorded eight data points for each from lender sites and major review publishers.
People who search for a cash store usually want money soon and a clear payment. The table and profiles on this page let you weigh a storefront cash store against online personal loans with the same yardstick. Figures were checked shortly before this page was last updated. Lenders change pricing often, so treat every number as a starting point and confirm it on the offer you receive.
- APR: the yearly cost of a personal loan, including interest and most fees. A range shows the lowest and highest APR the lender publishes. Your rate depends on credit, income, state and loan size.
- Amounts: the smallest and largest personal loan the lender advertises. State law often raises the minimum or lowers the maximum.
- Terms: how many months you get to repay a personal loan. Longer terms lower the payment and raise total interest.
- Fee: the origination or administrative fee, usually taken out of the personal loan before you receive it.
- Min credit: the lowest score the lender publishes. Many branch lenders publish none and review each file.
- Funding: how quickly money typically arrives after approval, as stated by the lender or a reviewer.
- Availability: states served and, for storefront lenders, the branch count.
- Best for: the borrower who gets the most out of that lender, in one line.
Where a lender does not publish a figure and no reliable review confirms one, the table says “not disclosed” or “varies.” We did not estimate missing numbers. A blank is information too: a lender or a cash store that hides its APR range until you are sitting in a branch makes comparison harder, and you should ask for the APR in writing before you sign anything.
| Lender | APR range | Amounts | Terms | Origination fee | Min. credit | Funding | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OneMain Financial | 11.99%–35.99% | $1,500–$35,000 | 24–60 months | $25–$500 flat or 1%–10% | Not disclosed | Same day after closing possible | In-person help and secured-loan options |
| Avant | 9.95%–35.99% | $2,000–$35,000 | 24–60 months | Up to 9.99% | 550 | As soon as next business day | Fair or thin credit, online only |
| Upstart | 6.20%–35.99% | $1,000–$75,000 | 36–60 months (84 rare) | 0%–12% | None published | Usually 1 business day | Limited credit history |
| LendingPoint | 7.99%–35.99% | $1,000–$36,500 | 24–72 months | 0%–10% | 640 | As soon as next business day | Fair credit, fast online process |
| Upgrade | 7.74%–35.99% (with discounts) | $1,000–$50,000 | 24–84 months | 1.85%–9.99% | 600 | As soon as 1 business day | Paying off cards directly |
| Universal Credit | 11.69%–35.99% | $1,000–$50,000 | 24–60 months | 5.25%–9.99% | 560 | Typically next day | Fair credit with autopay |
| Best Egg | 6.99%–35.99% unsecured | $2,000–$50,000 | 36–60 months | 0.99%–9.99% | 600 | Next business day | Homeowners wanting a secured option |
| Prosper | 8.99%–35.99% | $2,000–$50,000 | 24–72 months | 1%–9.99% | 560 | Usually next day | Joint applications |
| Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub) | 5.96%–35.99% | $1,000–$75,000 | 24–84 months | Up to 8% | 600 | Usually within 24 hours | Consolidation with a co-borrower |
| Oportun | 31.95%–35.95% unsecured | $300–$10,000 | 12–54 months | Up to 10% (admin fee) | None; no history needed | Same day to 3 business days | No credit history |
| Mariner Finance | 15.99%–35.99% | $1,500–$14,000 online; up to $25,000 in branch | 12–72 months | Varies by state | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Cosigned or vehicle-secured loans |
| Lendmark Financial | Up to 35.99% | From about $500; max varies | 12–72 months | May apply by state | Not disclosed | Same day may be available | Branch service with longer terms |
| Regional Finance | Advertised 24%–35.99%; varies by state | $600–$45,000 (varies by state) | 12–60 months | May apply | None required | As fast as 24 hours | Poor credit, larger branch loans |
| Republic Finance | Up to 35.99% | Up to $25,000 | 12–60 months | Not disclosed; may apply | None required | Same day in branch; 1–2 days online | Same-day funds at a branch |
| Heights Finance | Not disclosed | $500–$50,000 (state minimums $400–$1,000) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | As soon as same day | Small branch loans, first payment 30+ days out |
| 1st Franklin Financial | Up to 35.99% on $3,500+; smaller loans vary | Up to $15,000 | 15–60 months | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Within hours if documents in by noon | Fast same-day branch funding |
| Tower Loan | Varies by credit and state law | Varies by state | 12–36 months (quoted) | Varies by state | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Southern borrowers wanting local offices |
| World Finance | Varies by state; can exceed 100% on small loans | About $450–$10,000 | Varies by state | $25–$100 flat or % by state | Not disclosed | Approval in about an hour | Small fixed-payment loans in person |
| Security Finance | Varies; reported up to about 124% | $448–$2,600 (varies by state) | About 8–24 months | Origination and handling fees vary | None required | Often same day | Very small loans under $2,600 |
| OppLoans | 99%–195% | $500–$5,000 | 9–24 months | None | None required | Same or next business day | Last resort for poor credit |
| NetCredit | 34%–99.99% | $1,000–$10,000 | 6–60 months | None on newer loans | Not disclosed | Typically next business day | Bad credit needing a longer term |
| Rise Credit | 59.80%–299% | $500–$5,000 | 7–36 months | Up to 5% in some states | None required | As soon as next business day | Last resort for thin or poor credit |
| Personify Financial | 36%–179.99% | $500–$15,000 | 6–48 months | Up to 5.49% | 500 | Same or next day | Bad credit when cheaper offers fail |
| PenFed Credit Union | 6.09%–17.99% (with autopay) | $600–$50,000 | 12–60 months | None | Not disclosed | Next day after approval; can take longer | Lowest-cost benchmark |
How to Choose a Lender for a Small Personal Loan
Choose by total cost first: compare APR, the origination fee in dollars and the monthly payment for the same amount and term, then check that the lender serves your state and funds fast enough for your bill.
- Set the amount and the deadline. Borrow what the bill requires, plus the fee if the lender deducts it. Know the date the money has to land.
- Screen by state. Cross out every lender that does not serve your state, and any cash store near me result that is not licensed where you live. That step alone can remove a third of this list.
- Screen by credit. If your score is under 600, the online personal loan lenders with published floors of 600 or 640 are unlikely to approve you. Branch lenders and lenders with no published minimum stay on your list.
- Compare the same loan. Ask every lender for a personal loan quote at one amount and one term. Run each quote through our personal loan payment calculator so the comparison is fair.
- Price the fee. An 8% fee on a $2,000 loan holds back $160. A lender with a slightly higher APR and no fee can cost less overall.
- Read the add-ons. Optional credit insurance and memberships raise the payment. You can decline them online or at a cash store counter.
Whether you borrow online or at a cash store, APR changes the bill more than anything else. Using sample figures from our payment table for a $2,000 loan over 18 months, with no origination fee assumed:
| APR | Monthly payment | Total repaid | Interest |
|---|---|---|---|
| 9.99% | $120.10 | $2,161.80 | $161.80 |
| 22.99% | $132.42 | $2,383.56 | $383.56 |
| 35.99% | $145.41 | $2,617.38 | $617.38 |
The gap between the cheapest and the most expensive row is $455.58 on the same $2,000. Those estimates stop at 35.99%; several lenders below charge far more. For typical APR bands by credit tier, see our current personal loan rate ranges, and check the basic eligibility requirements before you apply anywhere so you do not collect hard credit inquiries you cannot use.
Lender Profiles: 24 Alternatives to a Cash Store
The 24 lenders below run from online lenders capped at 35.99% APR, through branch-based installment companies that work much like a traditional cash store, to high-cost online lenders and one credit union benchmark.
Profiles follow the order of the table. Each one notes where the figures came from when a lender does not publish them itself. Appearing here is not an endorsement, and none of these lenders paid to be listed.
OneMain Financial
OneMain Financial is one of the largest branch-based personal loan companies in the country, with more than 1,300 branches in 44 states, so it offers the in-person feel of a cash store with published rates. Its site lists loans from $1,500 to $35,000 at fixed APRs of 11.99% to 35.99% over 24 to 60 months, with higher minimums in some states. Origination fees are a flat $25 to $500 or 1% to 10%, by state. No minimum credit score is published, and a vehicle can secure the personal loan. Read optional add-on products closely; several state attorneys general have sued over how they were sold, which OneMain disputes.
Avant
Avant is an online personal loan lender aimed at people with fair or thin credit. Published figures show personal loans from $2,000 to $35,000 at APRs of 9.95% to 35.99% with terms of 24 to 60 months. An origination fee of up to 9.99% is taken from the personal loan proceeds, so the deposit can be well under the amount you sign for. Reviewers list a 550 minimum credit score, and you can check a rate with a soft credit pull. Funding is often the next business day after approval. Avant lends in 44 states and Washington, D.C.; Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Washington and West Virginia are excluded.
Upstart
Upstart looks at factors beyond the credit score, such as education and work history, which can help applicants with short credit files. Loans run from $1,000 to $75,000 with APRs from 6.20% to 35.99%, and the usual terms are three or five years, with a seven-year option offered rarely. The origination fee ranges from 0% to 12%, one of the widest spreads on this list. Upstart publishes no minimum credit score and will consider applicants with limited history. Most approved loans fund within one business day, and Upstart personal loans are offered in all 50 states and Washington, D.C.
LendingPoint
LendingPoint makes personal loans for borrowers with fair credit and publishes a 640 minimum score, the highest floor among the online lenders here. Loans run from $1,000 in most states up to $36,500, with APRs of 7.99% to 35.99% and terms of two to six years. The origination fee can reach 10% depending on the state, so ask for the fee in dollars before you accept. Approved applicants can see funds as soon as the next business day. LendingPoint lends in 42 states and does not serve Connecticut, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Nebraska, Nevada, Vermont, West Virginia or Washington, D.C.
Upgrade
Upgrade offers fixed-rate personal loans from $1,000 to $50,000 with APRs of 7.74% to 35.99%, where the low end includes rate discounts, and terms of 24 to 84 months. Every loan carries an origination fee of 1.85% to 9.99%, deducted before funding. Reviewers cite a 600 minimum credit score. Upgrade gives a rate discount when part of the personal loan is sent straight to your creditors, which suits paying off high-rate cards. Funds can arrive as soon as one business day after approval. State availability changes, so confirm your state on the lender’s own site before you apply.
Universal Credit
Universal Credit is an online personal loan brand powered by Upgrade that works with fair and lower scores, with a published minimum of 560. Loans range from $1,000 to $50,000 at APRs of 11.69% to 35.99% over two to five years. The origination fee runs 5.25% to 9.99%, so even the best-priced offer loses more than 5% of the personal loan to fees up front. Reviewers point out that setting up automatic payments helps on pricing, and funds typically arrive the next day after approval. Universal Credit lends in all 50 states but not in Washington, D.C.
Best Egg
Best Egg offers unsecured personal loans at 6.99% to 35.99% APR and a secured option for homeowners at 5.99% to 29.99% APR. Amounts start at $2,000 and reach $50,000, with three- to five-year terms, so it fits the upper half of the $500 to $5,000 range. Origination fees run 0.99% to 9.99% on unsecured loans. The published minimum credit score is 600, rates can be checked with a soft pull, and funds often arrive the next business day. Best Egg is available in 47 states; Iowa, Vermont, West Virginia and Washington, D.C. are excluded.
Prosper
Prosper started as a peer-to-peer marketplace and still accepts a wider range of credit than many banks, with a published minimum score of 560. Personal loans run from $2,000 to $50,000 at APRs of 8.99% to 35.99% over two to six years. The origination fee runs 1% to 9.99%. Prosper allows joint applications, which can help if a spouse or partner has stronger credit, and you can pre-qualify with a soft check. Most loans fund the day after approval. Prosper lends in 47 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Iowa, North Dakota and West Virginia.
Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)
LendingClub rebranded its bank as Happen Bank, and its personal loans continue under the new name. Published figures show loans from $1,000 to $75,000 at APRs of 5.96% to 35.99% with terms of two to seven years. The origination fee can reach 8% and is deducted before you receive the money. Reviewers list a 600 minimum credit score. Happen Bank allows joint applications and is a common pick for consolidating card balances. The lender reports an average approval time of about an hour and typically sends funds within 24 hours, and loans are offered in all 50 states and Washington, D.C.
Oportun
Oportun makes smaller unsecured personal loans from $300 to $10,000, and new customers typically receive $500 to $4,000. LendingTree lists unsecured APRs of 31.95% to 35.95% over 12 to 54 months, plus an administrative fee of up to 10% of the principal. No prior credit history is required, though Oportun does pull and review credit reports. Funds can arrive the same day to a debit card, or in one to three business days by direct deposit. Oportun lends in about 41 states, and its pricing sits well below many cash store loans for people with no credit file.
Mariner Finance
Mariner Finance pairs an online personal loan application with a branch network. Its site lists APRs of 15.99% to 35.99% and terms of 12 to 72 months. Online loans run $1,500 to $14,000, while branch loans can be smaller or larger, up to $25,000; Georgia loans start above $3,000. Fees vary by state, and the lowest rates may require a lien on a vehicle no more than ten years old. Mariner publishes no minimum credit score or funding time. A 15-day satisfaction guarantee lets you return the money with no fees. NerdWallet counts about 29 states served.
Lendmark Financial
Lendmark Financial runs more than 550 branches in 24 states, so it often shows up when people in the Southeast look for the cash store near me. Its disclosures cap APRs on new loans at 35.99% and list repayment terms of 12 to 72 months, with origination or other state-allowed fees on some loans and no prepayment penalty. Reviewers list amounts starting around $500. No minimum credit score is published; underwriting weighs credit history, income, debts and collateral. Lendmark reports that about two-thirds of personal loan applications in a recent five-month period were approved and funded within one business day.
Regional Finance
Regional Finance is a storefront personal loan company, closer to a traditional cash store than any online lender, licensed in 20 states with more than 350 branches according to Finder. Its site lists loans from $600 to $45,000, with the maximum varying by state and the largest amounts tied to a vehicle. Finder reports advertised APRs of 24% to 35.99% and terms of 12 to 60 months, though some borrowers report higher rates in certain states. No minimum credit score is required, and origination fees may apply. Funding is advertised in as little as 24 hours.
Republic Finance
Republic Finance makes personal loans through more than 250 branches in 16 states, including Texas, Louisiana, Georgia and Ohio. Finder lists APRs up to 35.99%, loan amounts up to $25,000 and terms of 12 to 60 months. Origination, late and returned-payment fees may apply, but the company does not publish a fee schedule, so ask for the dollar amount before you sign. No minimum credit score is required. Loans closed in a branch are usually paid by check the same day, while online unsecured loans arrive by ACH within one to two business days.
Heights Finance
Heights Finance and its affiliated brands operate more than 350 branches, and the company advertises personal loans from $500 to $50,000. State minimums range from $400 in Georgia to $1,000 in Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana and Mississippi, and its state table covers about 13 states. APRs and term lengths are not published, which is common at the cash store end of the market, so the loan agreement is the only place to see your real cost. Pre-qualifying uses a soft inquiry. Funds can be transferred as soon as the same day after signing, and the first payment is due at least 30 days out. Debit card payments online cost $2.95.
1st Franklin Financial
1st Franklin Financial is a Georgia-based branch lender serving 10 states, and people who search for a cash money store in small Southern towns often find one of its offices. Its site advertises personal loans up to $15,000, with a maximum APR of 35.99% and terms of 15 to 60 months on loans of $3,500 and above; smaller loans fall under each state’s rules, so ask for the APR on any amount below that. No minimum credit score is published. The company says funds can be ready in a few hours when you submit all documents by noon. Collateral may be needed for larger amounts.
Tower Loan
Tower Loan is a Southern lender offering personal loans from offices in more than 240 cities, in states such as Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Missouri and Texas. Loan amounts and APRs depend on your state of residence and credit, within state-law limits. Online quotes cover terms of 12 to 36 months, origination fees vary by state, and secured loans are handled only in a branch. Tower does not publish a minimum credit score or a funding time. Checking your rate does not affect your credit, which makes it a sensible quote to collect before you visit a cash store.
World Finance
World Finance is a large branch-based lender making personal loans of about $450 to $10,000, with larger amounts requiring a vehicle lien in some states. APRs vary by state; its own Georgia examples run from 33.90% on a loan of about $2,900 to 101.61% on a $200 loan. Origination is a flat $25 to $100 in some states or a percentage in others, and late fees run $5 to $30. No minimum score is published, and most applications get a decision in about an hour. Compare any World Finance offer, or any cash store quote, with an under-36% option first.
Security Finance
Security Finance focuses on very small personal loans, from $448 to $2,600 on its own site, with pricing closer to cash store loans than to bank credit. Finder lists terms of about 8 to 24 months and reports APRs up to about 124%, noting that rates can exceed 100% depending on state and loan size. Origination, account handling, late and returned-payment fees all vary by state. No minimum credit score is required, though a credit check is run. The company and its affiliates operate more than 750 branches in about 12 states, and many borrowers are funded the same day.
OppLoans
OppLoans makes $500 to $5,000 installment loans for people with poor credit or low income, at APRs of 99% to 195% over 9 to 24 months. There is no origination fee and no minimum credit score. If you are approved by noon Central on a business day, funds can arrive the same day. OppLoans is unavailable in about a dozen places, including New York, Colorado, Georgia, Maryland and Washington, D.C. A loan at these rates can cost more in interest than the amount borrowed, so treat OppLoans as a last resort after under-36% personal loans have said no.
NetCredit
NetCredit offers online personal loans from $1,000 to $10,000 at APRs of 34% to 99.99%, depending on the state, with terms of 6 to 60 months. Credible reports that NetCredit dropped fees on newer loans, so no origination fee applies. A minimum credit score is not disclosed, and the lender serves people with bad or no credit. Funding typically lands the next business day, or the same day if you apply by 11 a.m. Central. NetCredit lends in 37 states. Long terms at these APRs pile up interest fast, so borrow the smallest amount and pay early if you can.
Rise Credit
Rise Credit offers $500 to $5,000 personal loans with terms of 7 to 36 months, and NerdWallet lists APRs of 59.80% to 299%. An origination fee of up to 5% applies in Delaware, Idaho, Missouri, Utah and Wisconsin. There is no minimum credit score, and the lender says its average borrower has a score of 629 or lower. Accepting an offer by 6 p.m. Eastern can bring funds the next business day. Rise lends in 30 states. At the top of its range the cost is extreme, so compare a credit union or an under-36% lender first.
Personify Financial
Personify Financial lends $500 to $15,000 at APRs of 36% to 179.99% with terms of six months to four years. The origination fee can reach 5.49%, and NerdWallet lists a minimum credit score of 500. Funding is often the same day, with some borrowers receiving money the next day. Personify serves 25 states. NerdWallet frames it as an option for borrowers with bad credit who cannot qualify for a more affordable loan elsewhere, and that is the right way to use it: as a fallback after you have checked cheaper personal loans.
PenFed Credit Union
PenFed Credit Union is the low-cost benchmark on this list. Personal loans run $600 to $50,000 at APRs of 6.09% to 17.99%, where the low end includes a 0.25-point autopay discount, with terms of one to five years and no origination fee. You must join, which takes opening a savings account with a $5 deposit, and membership is open nationwide. PenFed does not publish a minimum credit score, and approval can take a day or more, with funds following after that. Applicants with fair credit may still qualify at a rate far below a typical cash store quote.
What to Watch For: High APRs, Fees, Discounts and State Rules
Watch four things before you sign: an APR above 36%, an origination fee taken from your proceeds, a quoted rate that depends on autopay or other discounts, and whether the lender is licensed in your state.
APRs above 36%
Consumer advocates treat 36% as the upper limit for affordable credit, and most online personal loan lenders on this list stay at or below 35.99%. Six lenders here go higher. OppLoans lists 99% to 195%, Rise Credit 59.80% to 299%, Personify Financial 36% to 179.99% and NetCredit 34% to 99.99%. Some state-licensed installment lenders also exceed 36% on small balances: World Finance’s own Georgia example shows 101.61% on a $200 loan, and Finder reports Security Finance APRs up to about 124%. Cash store loans from a storefront often land in this same territory, which is why you should get at least one under-36% personal loan quote before accepting a triple-digit offer.
Origination and other fees
Most online personal loan lenders deduct the fee from the loan. With a 9.99% fee, a $2,000 approval puts about $1,800 in your account while you repay the full $2,000 plus interest. Cash store loans from branch lenders often carry flat fees instead: OneMain’s run $25 to $500 depending on the state, and World Finance charges $25 to $100 in some states. Late fees, returned-payment fees and debit card convenience fees add up too.
Autopay and direct-pay discounts
The lowest advertised APR often assumes a discount. PenFed’s 6.09% floor includes a 0.25-point autopay discount, and Upgrade’s low end assumes discounts such as sending loan funds straight to creditors. If you cannot keep enough in checking for autopay, price the personal loan without the discount.
State availability and state law
No lender here serves every borrower everywhere on the same terms. Many online lenders skip Iowa, West Virginia and Washington, D.C., and cash store and branch lenders cluster in the South and Midwest. State law sets minimum personal loan amounts, fee caps and APR limits, which is why OneMain’s minimum is $3,000 in California and Heights Finance’s ranges from $400 to $1,000 by state.
A Storefront Cash Store vs an Online Lender
A storefront cash store or branch lender offers face-to-face help and same-day checks, while an online personal loan lender usually offers lower published APRs, wider state coverage and direct deposit, often the next business day after approval.
When you search for a cash store near me, most results are branch-based installment lenders like the ones in the middle of our list, plus check cashers and title lenders. The branch model suits people who want to talk through a budget, bring documents in person or pledge a vehicle. Branch personal loans also tend to cost more on small balances, and fewer branch lenders publish APRs up front.
| Factor | Storefront branch | Online lender |
|---|---|---|
| Published APR range | Often not shown; some exceed 36% | Usually shown; many cap at 35.99% |
| Smallest loans | Some start near $450 to $600 | Many start at $1,000 to $2,000 |
| Credit score floor | Rarely published | Often 550 to 640 for lower APRs |
| Funding | Same-day check possible | Often next business day |
| Collateral | Vehicle-secured loans common | Mostly unsecured |
| Coverage | Limited to licensed states | Often 40+ states |
The trade-off is plain. If your score sits near 600 or above, an online personal loan capped at 35.99% will usually beat a branch offer on cost. If your score is lower, you need less than $1,000, or you want an in-person conversation, the cash store near me route through a licensed branch lender can still make sense, as long as you see the APR before you sign. Avoid any store that will not put the APR, the fee and the total of payments on paper.
Ask the same questions online and at a cash store: what is the APR, what is the fee in dollars, what is the payment, how many payments, and is there a prepayment penalty. Lenders on this list that publish their policy, such as Lendmark, charge no prepayment penalty.
How Our Request Form Differs From Applying to Each Lender
Our request form is a single online request that we pass to lenders in our network; applying directly means filling out a separate application, and often a separate credit check, at each lender you choose.
We are a connector. We do not make loans, set rates or decide who is approved. Lenders in our network review the personal loan request and may present an offer, and every offer comes with the lender’s own APR, fee and terms. Offers vary by lender, state and credit profile, and approval is never guaranteed.
Listing does not mean a partnership. The 24 lenders on this page were chosen for comparison because their figures can be checked. Lenders in our network may or may not include any of them. If you want an offer from a specific lender above, apply on that lender’s own site or visit its branch as you would a cash store.
- Applying directly: you pick the lender, see its full disclosures before applying and control which companies pull your credit. It takes more time if you want several quotes.
- Using our request form: you enter your personal loan details once and lenders in our network can respond. You are not obligated to accept any offer, and a lender may run its own credit check before final approval.
Many people do both, which beats relying on a single cash store quote: send one request, then check one or two lenders from this list directly and compare the quotes side by side. If you are weighing cash store loans against an online offer, that mix gives you a fair price check. When you are ready, you can start a no-obligation loan request and compare what comes back with the figures on this page. Funding, when an offer is accepted, is often the next business day after approval, depending on the lender.
Frequently asked questions
Why do some lenders on this list charge more than 36% APR?
State-licensed installment lenders and some online lenders serve borrowers with poor or no credit and price that risk into the rate. Depending on state law, OppLoans lists APRs of 99% to 195%, and Rise Credit lists up to 299%. Treat those offers as a last resort after you have checked lenders that cap personal loan APRs at 35.99%.
Does a lender’s name on this page mean it is in your network?
No. The lenders above were picked for comparison because their published figures can be checked. Lenders in our network may or may not include any of them, and listing a lender here is not a partnership or endorsement.
Which lenders on this list make personal loans under $1,000?
Oportun starts at $300, Security Finance at $448, World Finance at about $450, and OppLoans, Rise Credit, Personify Financial and Heights Finance at $500 in many states. PenFed and Regional Finance start at $600. Several online lenders start at $1,000 or $2,000, so a small need narrows the list quickly.
Do I have to visit a branch to borrow from a storefront installment lender?
Usually not. OneMain, Mariner, Lendmark, Regional, Republic and Heights all take online personal loan applications or pre-qualification, though some loans, especially vehicle-secured ones, must close in a branch. Many results for cash store near me searches are lenders like these, so ask whether you can sign and receive funds electronically before you drive to a cash store.
Ready to compare loan offers?
Takes about five minutes. No fee to use our service and no obligation to accept any offer.